Norrhern Ireland flag

UK – Northern Ireland


Northern Health and Social Care Trust

Northern Ireland

Services Offered

The Northern Trust is one of five health and social care trusts in Northern Ireland which became operational on 1 April 2007.

We provide a comprehensive range of health and social care services to a population of almost 436,000 people across a geographical area of 1,733 square miles spanning four new council areas (Antrim and Newtownabbey District, Causeway Coast and Glens District, Mid and East Antrim District and Mid Ulster District), making it the largest geographical trust in Northern Ireland.

The Trust has a budget of £600m and employs 11,700 staff across a full range of medical, health and social care disciplines.

The Trust delivers services from over 150 facilities including two major general hospital sites, a mental health hospital, local community hospitals, health centres, social services, and a significant network of community services as well as provision of care in the home. This includes care to people who live on Rathlin, the only inhabited island in Northern Ireland.

We provide emergency hospital services on two sites, Antrim Area Hospital and Causeway Hospital in Coleraine.


SPICT is only beginning to be used within the Care of the Elderly and Respiratory Team. It is also being used to help support diagnosis of lung cancer patients.

Public Health Agency


Services Offered

In Northern Ireland the Regional Palliative Care Programme (RPCP)– Palliative Care in Partnership is a strategic programme, which has partnerships with stakeholders from statutory, community, voluntary and independent sectors, with accountability arrangements to the Department of Health . The Public Health Agency and Health and Social Care Board lead the programme. SPICT has been endorsed by the Palliative Care Programme (RPCP)– Palliative Care in Partnership for use across the relevant provider organisations.


SPICT has been endorsed by Palliative Care Programme (RPCP)– Palliative Care in Partnership for use across the relevant provider organisation. This includes primary care , 5 Health and Social Care Trust, 4 Hospice providers .